Russian Booker

The Russian Booker Prize is an annual literary award for the best novel written in the Russian language and published in the previous year. It retains the reputation as being one of the most prestigious literary awards in the country and aims to promote quality prose and commercial success.

The prize was founded in 1991 as the first non-governmental Russian award since 1917. It was initiated by Sir Michael Caine, the head of Booker plc. This company also established the Booker Literary Prize to cover England, the Commonwealth and Ireland in 1969.

There are four procedural stages for the annual Russian Booker Prize: the announcement of the nominees (January), the announcement of the "long list" (June), followed by the announcement of the "short list " (October), and finally the winner announcement ceremony (December). Books are nominated for the award by publishing houses, literary magazines, major libraries and select universities: the first ceremony being held in 1992.



  1. Athanasius Mamedov, Frau Scar
  2. Elena Chizhov, Laura
  3. Leonid Yuzefovich, Kazaroza
  4. Leonid Zorin, Jupiter
  5. Natalia Galkina, Renaud’s Residence
  6. Ruben David Gonzalez Gallego, White on Black [Winner]


  1. Alexander Melikhov, The Love of Kinfolks Laid to Rest
  2. Dmitry Bortnikov, Fritz Syndrome
  3. Oleg Pavlov, Karaganda ninth-day Requiem or The Story or the Last Days [Winner]
  4. Sergei Gandlevsky, <Illegible>
  5. Vadim Mesyats, Treatment by Electricity: Novel of 84 Fragments from the East and 74 Fragments from the West
  6. Vladimir Sorokin, Ice


  1. Alan Cherchesov, Wreath on the Grave of the Wind
  2. Alexander Chudakov, A Gloom Is Cast Upon the Ancient Steps
  3. Anatoly Naiman, Sir
  4. George Vladimov, The General and his Men
  5. Ludmila Ulitskaya, The Kukotsky Case [Winner]
  6. Sergei Nosov, The Lady of History
  7. Tatyana Tolstaya, Slynx


  1. Alex Slapovsky, Money Day
  2. Mary Paley, Lunch
  3. Mikhail Shishkin, The Conquest of Izmail [Winner]
  4. Nikolai Kononov, The Funeral of a Grasshopper
  5. Svetlana Schenbrun, Roses and Chrysanthemums
  6. Valery Zalotuha, The Last Communist


  1. Alexander Vassiliev, My Marusechka
  2. Leonid Girshovich, The Pricelist
  3. Mikhail Butov, Freedom [Winner]
  4. Victoria Platova, A Coast
  5. Vladimir Makanin, Underground: or the Hero of our Time
  6. Yuri Buida, The Prussian Bride