Russian Booker

The Russian Booker Prize is an annual literary award for the best novel written in the Russian language and published in the previous year. It retains the reputation as being one of the most prestigious literary awards in the country and aims to promote quality prose and commercial success.

The prize was founded in 1991 as the first non-governmental Russian award since 1917. It was initiated by Sir Michael Caine, the head of Booker plc. This company also established the Booker Literary Prize to cover England, the Commonwealth and Ireland in 1969.

There are four procedural stages for the annual Russian Booker Prize: the announcement of the nominees (January), the announcement of the "long list" (June), followed by the announcement of the "short list " (October), and finally the winner announcement ceremony (December). Books are nominated for the award by publishing houses, literary magazines, major libraries and select universities: the first ceremony being held in 1992.



  1. Elena Nekrasov, Shchukinskaya and the City
  2. Galina Shchekina, Grafomanka
  3. German Sadulaev, Crack
  4. Ilya Boyashov, Armada
  5. Mikhail Elizarov, The Librarian [Winner]
  6. Vladimir Sharov, Be as Little Children


  1. Alex Tarn, God does not Play with Dice
  2. Alexander Ilichevsky, Matisse [Winner]
  3. Andrei Dmitriev, Bay of Joy
  4. Igor Sakhnovsky, The Man Who knew Everything
  5. Ludmila Ulitskaya, Daniel Stein, Translator, Eksmo (2008)
  6. Yuri Malecki, The End of a Needle


  1. Alan Cherchesov, Villa Belle Letra
  2. Dina Rubina, On the Sunny Side of the Street
  3. Dennis Sobolev, Jerusalem
  4. Olga Slavnikova, 2017 [Winner]
  5. Peter Aleshkovsky, A Fish
  6. Zakhar Prilepin, Sanka


  1. Anatoly Naiman, Kablukov
  2. Boris Evseev, Little Romance
  3. Dennis Gutsko, Without Way or Track [Winner]
  4. Elena Chizhov, A Criminal
  5. Oleg Yermakov, Canvas
  6. Roman Solntzev, Bonanza
  7. Roman Solntzev, Except for Lavrikov


  1. Alex Slapovsky, Quality of Life
  2. Anatoly Kurchatkin, The Sun was Shining
  3. Ludmila Petrushevskaya, Number One or in the Gardens of other Opportunities
  4. Marta Petrov Shilkloper’s, Horn
  5. Oleg Zajaczkowski, Sergeyev and the Town
  6. Vasily Aksenov, Voltairian Men and Women [Winner]