Russian Booker

The Russian Booker Prize is an annual literary award for the best novel written in the Russian language and published in the previous year. It retains the reputation as being one of the most prestigious literary awards in the country and aims to promote quality prose and commercial success.

The prize was founded in 1991 as the first non-governmental Russian award since 1917. It was initiated by Sir Michael Caine, the head of Booker plc. This company also established the Booker Literary Prize to cover England, the Commonwealth and Ireland in 1969.

There are four procedural stages for the annual Russian Booker Prize: the announcement of the nominees (January), the announcement of the "long list" (June), followed by the announcement of the "short list " (October), and finally the winner announcement ceremony (December). Books are nominated for the award by publishing houses, literary magazines, major libraries and select universities: the first ceremony being held in 1992.



  1. Vladimir Shapko, At the Foot of an Immense World, “Ural” Literary Magazine №№ 11–12 (2012)
  2. Margaret Hamlin, The Investigator, Astrel (2012)
  3. Andrei Ivanov, Harbin Moths, Tallin: Avenarius (2013)
  4. Denis Gutsko, . Beta Male, АSТ (2012)
  5. Return to Panjrud [Winner]
  6. Evgenii Vodolazkin, Laurus. A non-historical novel, Astrel (2012)


  1. Alexander Terekhov, The Germans, Astrel (2012)
  2. Marina Stepnova, The Women of Lazarus, Astrel (2011)
  3. Olga Slavnikova, Light Head, AST (2011)
  4. Evgenii Popov, Arbeit, Or A Wide Canvas, Astrel (2012)
  5. Andrei Dmitriev, The Peasant and the Teenage, Vremya (2012) [Winner]
  6. Marina Akhmedova, Khadija, Notes of a Death Girl, Astrel (2011)


  1. Roman Senchin, Eltyshevy [A finalist of 2009]
  2. Ludmila Ulitskaya, Daniel Stein, Translator, Eksmo (2008) [A finalist of]
  3. Zakhar Prilepin, Sanka [A finalist of 2006]
  4. Oleg Pavlov, Karaganda ninth-day Requiem or The Story or the Last Days [The winner of 2002]
  5. Alexander Chudakov, A Gloom Is Cast Upon the Ancient Steps [A finalist of 2001]


  1. Andrei Ivanov, Hanuman's Jouney to Lolland
  2. Elena Kolyadina, Flower Cross [Winner]
  3. German Sadulaev, Shali Raid
  4. Margaret Hamlin, Klotsvog
  5. Mariam Petrosyan, The House that..., Livebook (2013)
  6. Oleg Zajaczkowski, Happiness is Possible


  1. Alexander Terekhov, Stone Bridge
  2. Boris Khazanov, Yesterday's Eternity
  3. Elena Chizhova, The Time of Women, Astrel (2010) [Winner]
  4. Elena Katishonok, Once Upon a Time an Old Man and Old Woman
  5. Leonid Yuzefovich, Cranes and Dwarfs
  6. Roman Senchin, Eltyshevy