National Bestseller

National Bestseller is the annual Russian Literary Prize awarded in the town of St. Petersburg for the best novel written in Russian within any one calendar year. The award was established in 2001 by Victor Toporov, the Russian writer, translator, and literary critic. The motto of the prize is “To awake the famous!”

A long list for the Prize is drawn up by nominees appointed by the Organizing Committee, encompassing the entire spectrum of literary schools and tastes. It includes representatives of the major publishers, literary journals, literary critics and prominent writers.

There are four procedural stages for theĀ National Bestseller Prize: the announcement of the nominees (January), the announcement of the long list (February), followed by the announcement of the short list (April), and finally the winner announcement ceremony (June).



  1. Olga Slavnikova, Immortal
  2. Oleg Pavlov, Karaganda Ninth-day Requiem
  3. Sergei Nosov, Give Me a Monkey
  4. Irina Denezhkina, Song for Lovers
  5. Dmitry Bortnikov, Fritz's Syndrome
  6. Alexander Prokhanov, Mr Hexogen [Winner]


  1. Vladimir Sorokin, Feast
  2. Sergei Bolmat, By Themselves
  3. Leonid Yuzefovich, Prince of Wind [Winner]
  4. Eduard Limonov, The Book of the Dead
  5. Dmitry Bykov, Justification
  6. Alexander Prokhanov, Walking in the Night